I was a Software Engineer previously found at Floryn, where I primarily worked on applying machine learning models to business problems. I enjoy solving complicated problems using open-source software.

My childhood was very diverse, I was born in Munich, was promptly moved to the Turks and Caicos islands, travelled the world for two years, lived in Saint Martin, moved to Australia where I lived on the Gold Coast and then Cairns, moved to the Netherlands where I went to a European School, moved to Italy for studies in an ethnolinguistically interesting area, and finally returned to the Netherlands for work. Thanks to this, I speak five languages more or less fluently and have had the incredible privilege to see more of the world than most can dream of.

When I was 10, I wanted my own website for my birthday. I started programming in VB.NET that year, and promptly moved on to Java and C#, being particularly involved in Minecraft lead me to managing my own public server and writing plugins that I published.

I earned my Bachelor degree in Computer Science & Engineering from the Free University of Bolzano-Bozen in Bolzano, South Tyrol. I did my thesis on Natural Language Processing in software source code under the supervision of Dr. Romain Robbes and Dr. Andrea Janes. In particular, I investigated the application of Byte Pair Encoding, which is used in models such as GPT-2, on predicting method names from their body.

In my free time I enjoy diving, bouldering, hiking, water sports, travelling, photography, reading, writing, and self-improvement, mostly optimizing my routines and habits to be more productive. I also like learning about new technologies and new programming languages. Sometimes I also play with electronics, mostly the Arduino platform but I also enjoy soldering my own mechanical keyboards.